Author Topic: WISH : I/O status component  (Read 698 times)

Wall-E

  • Robots in Architecture Members
  • Forum User
  • *
  • Posts: 159
    • View Profile
WISH : I/O status component
« on: May 30, 2017, 10:46:26 AM »
Hi !

While running a simulation, it would be nice to have components which inherit in real-time the I/O values so as to display some kind of user-friendly indicator.
I like using Human's "Render text to screen" component to have a "glass cockpit" feedback of what's going on.

I'm still not very happy with the overlay mode of the simulation graphs : when zoomed, it often gets in such a position that it can't be closed.
Also, the zooming makes it pixelized, and the I/O indications are still not very helpful shown like that.

Cheers,

Johannes @ Robots in Architecture

  • Lead Developer
  • Administrator
  • Forum User
  • *****
  • Posts: 581
    • View Profile
    • Robots in Architecture
Re: WISH : I/O status component
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2017, 04:34:54 PM »
Hello,

Integration of IO values into the Analysis component sounds doable, I'll look into that soon!

Best,
Johannes

Johannes @ Robots in Architecture

  • Lead Developer
  • Administrator
  • Forum User
  • *****
  • Posts: 581
    • View Profile
    • Robots in Architecture
Re: WISH : I/O status component
« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2017, 05:29:17 PM »
Hello,

Please take a look at the most recent release, where the Analysis component now outputs the IO states. Let me know if it works for you!

Best,
Johannes

Wall-E

  • Robots in Architecture Members
  • Forum User
  • *
  • Posts: 159
    • View Profile
Re: WISH : I/O status component
« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2017, 02:21:54 PM »
Hi Johannes,

Thanks.
I suppose that the "mxAutomation" thing is only compatible with KRC4 robots.

Could you confirm ?

Cheers,

Johannes @ Robots in Architecture

  • Lead Developer
  • Administrator
  • Forum User
  • *****
  • Posts: 581
    • View Profile
    • Robots in Architecture
Re: WISH : I/O status component
« Reply #4 on: June 08, 2017, 05:00:25 PM »
Hello,

Yes, you need a current KRC4 robot as well as the mxAutomation techpackage itself!

Best,
Johannes

Wall-E

  • Robots in Architecture Members
  • Forum User
  • *
  • Posts: 159
    • View Profile
Re: WISH : I/O status component
« Reply #5 on: June 08, 2017, 05:11:24 PM »
Meh... for the ones born with a silver spoon in their mouth !
;)

Wall-E

  • Robots in Architecture Members
  • Forum User
  • *
  • Posts: 159
    • View Profile
Re: WISH : I/O status component
« Reply #6 on: June 26, 2017, 04:51:27 PM »
Hi Johannes,

I checked out the "IO" output from the "Analysis data" component.
This does not seem to allow me to know the status of the IOs during my simulation.
It just tells what values thay have for each frame.

I'd like to display the values on the screen as I scroll the simulation slider, or as I "Play" the simulation.

Cheers,

Johannes @ Robots in Architecture

  • Lead Developer
  • Administrator
  • Forum User
  • *****
  • Posts: 581
    • View Profile
    • Robots in Architecture
Re: WISH : I/O status component
« Reply #7 on: June 26, 2017, 04:55:27 PM »
Hello,

You mean the current IO values only?

Best,
Johannes

Wall-E

  • Robots in Architecture Members
  • Forum User
  • *
  • Posts: 159
    • View Profile
Re: WISH : I/O status component
« Reply #8 on: June 26, 2017, 09:23:25 PM »
Hi Johannes,

I need to know the OUTPUT values at the current simulation point.
With that, I can enrich the simulation.
For example, suppose you added a "Color" input in the "Custom tool" component, I could turn the tool red when it is activated by an output signal.
Or at least display a text on the screen stating "Tool activated".

Do you see what I mean to do here ?

Johannes @ Robots in Architecture

  • Lead Developer
  • Administrator
  • Forum User
  • *****
  • Posts: 581
    • View Profile
    • Robots in Architecture
Re: WISH : I/O status component
« Reply #9 on: June 27, 2017, 12:48:09 PM »
Hello,

I have some ideas on how to implement tool states, it's on my todo list already, but I'll push it up!

Best,
Johannes

Johannes @ Robots in Architecture

  • Lead Developer
  • Administrator
  • Forum User
  • *****
  • Posts: 581
    • View Profile
    • Robots in Architecture
Re: WISH : I/O status component
« Reply #10 on: June 29, 2017, 08:41:22 AM »
Hello,

As a first step, you can now get the index of the currently displayed robot state from the Analysis component. So e.g. simplify the output of the IO Analysis output and then use the Tree Branch component to retrieve the current IO state.

Best,
Johannes