Author Topic: (Another) Fusion 360 NC import wish  (Read 37 times)

Wall-E

  • Robots in Architecture Members
  • Forum User
  • *
  • Posts: 192
    • View Profile
(Another) Fusion 360 NC import wish
« on: October 16, 2018, 02:41:07 PM »
I have set a specific value for the "Rapid" input in the "Fusion" component, but I can see that value defined nowhere in the .SRC file
I wish that there was an input to over-ride whatever process speed is defined in the .xml file exported from fusion, and that the "Rapid" input actually affects the speed of travel in the "hops" between actual milling.


Johannes @ Robots in Architecture

  • Lead Developer
  • Administrator
  • Forum User
  • *****
  • Posts: 762
    • View Profile
    • Robots in Architecture
Re: (Another) Fusion 360 NC import wish
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2018, 05:01:51 PM »
Hello,

That is actually what should be happening, and in my tests it just worked.

For example at the end of the XML file I've got...
<linear5d to='-199 -0.01 2.039' normal='-1 0 0'/>
<arc dir='cw' to='-200.6 -1.61 2.039' center='-200.6 -0.01 2.039' normal='-1 0 0' feed='2000.000'/>
<rapid5d to='-215 -1.61 2.039' normal='-1 0 0'/>

...which translates to...
$VEL.CP=0.03333333
LIN {E6POS: X -199, Y -0.01, Z 2.039, A 0, B 0, C -105.953, E1 0, E2 0, E3 0, E4 0} C_DIS
CIRC {E6POS: X -201.731, Y 1.121, Z 2.039, A 0, B 0, C -105.953, E1 0, E2 0, E3 0, E4 0},{E6POS: X -200.6, Y -1.61, Z 2.039, A 0, B 0, C -105.969, E1 0, E2 0, E3 0, E4 0} C_DIS
$VEL.CP=2
LIN {E6POS: X -215, Y -1.61, Z 2.039, A 0, B 0, C -105.969, E1 0, E2 0, E3 0, E4 0} C_DIS

And you can override the speed by disabling the speed toggle. The postprocessor does not differentiate between the different movements, though, so you cannot batch-process those speeds, except by search/replace on the XML file.

Best,
Johannes

Wall-E

  • Robots in Architecture Members
  • Forum User
  • *
  • Posts: 192
    • View Profile
Re: (Another) Fusion 360 NC import wish
« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2018, 05:14:45 PM »
Johannes,

It doesn't make sense to me that :
-In the case of the "Feed" rate, you can only toggle whether or not you want to use the one from the .xml Gcode
-In the case of the "Rapid" rate, you can over-ride with a value

Why not allow to override both with a value ? That way, you have a consistent way to both :
-Choose if you want to keep the value from the .xml
-If you want to override, set a new value

It's similar to my remark with the Tool offset component : please go all the way to make it simple and easy to set th e various speeds.

Best,

Johannes @ Robots in Architecture

  • Lead Developer
  • Administrator
  • Forum User
  • *****
  • Posts: 762
    • View Profile
    • Robots in Architecture
Re: (Another) Fusion 360 NC import wish
« Reply #3 on: October 16, 2018, 05:34:29 PM »
If you disable the speed coming from Fusion, it will work like LINear movements without a speed value, i.e. it will take the previous one, which is often the default value defined in the settings.
What I could do is replace the "Toggle Feed" Boolean input with a number input for "Override Feed" (i.e. if you provide a value there it will override the programmed speed values), thus keeping the number of inputs the same.
Would that work for you?

Best,
Johannes

Wall-E

  • Robots in Architecture Members
  • Forum User
  • *
  • Posts: 192
    • View Profile
Re: (Another) Fusion 360 NC import wish
« Reply #4 on: October 16, 2018, 09:50:33 PM »
Yes, this is what I would like, and what makes for the most consistent logic, IMO

I like all my important values to be right before my eyes.
Did you know that David first named Grasshopper "Explicit History" ?


Johannes @ Robots in Architecture

  • Lead Developer
  • Administrator
  • Forum User
  • *****
  • Posts: 762
    • View Profile
    • Robots in Architecture
Re: (Another) Fusion 360 NC import wish
« Reply #5 on: October 18, 2018, 12:55:21 PM »
Yes, sure - the early times! I need to ask David sometimes if there is any particular reason it's called Grasshopper... Never thought of that ;)