Pulsing with Robot

Started by john, June 16, 2016, 02:36:05 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

john

I am recently new to working with Kuka PRC. I am wanting to weld with the robot and was wondering how I could pulse with the robot. I am hoping to extrude the weld and create an object, so I am assuming I need to figure out how to make the robot pulse. Any ideas would be helpful. Thanks!

Johannes @ Robots in Architecture

Hello John,

I'm very sorry, I must have mussed your post before.
I'm not really an expert on welding, so what exactly do you mean by "pulse"? You can pulse the robot's digital output, sending a brief 24V signal over a defined number of seconds.
KUKA|prc contains a "Custom KRL" component where you can input any KRL code you want, for the pulsing it would be e.g. "PULSE($OUT[1],TRUE,0.1)" - that would enable the digital output 1 for 0.1 seconds.
Is that what you are looking for?

Best,
Johannes

john

Hey Johannes,

No worries, thanks for getting back to me. I think you're right, I need to use the Custom KRL component to achieve what I am wanting to do. Three things:

1. Basically what I am wanting to do it extrude using a welder. So I am trying to figure out how to account for the robot "pulling the trigger" on the welder to create a bead of weld and repeating that process. That's what I am referring to pulsing as. I am wanting to do something similar this: https://hackadaycom.files.wordpress.com/2014/02/robot-printer.jpg?w=800&h=389

2. I think it is similar to Tutorial you posted "Example: Extrusion Process" except I can't load the full script because I have a newer version of PRC. The version I have is 2016-02-21.

3. One last thing. Do you know how I can lock an axis on the robot? I am wanting to lock the 5th axis.

Thanks for the response and your help!

Hello John,

There is also an extrusion example for the new KUKA|prc, however I don't think that it will be of very great help as your project is a bit different.