Author Topic: sunrise communicator - axis and pos outputs nothing  (Read 45 times)

victorlin

  • Robots in Architecture Members
  • Forum User
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
sunrise communicator - axis and pos outputs nothing
« on: May 21, 2020, 11:41:20 AM »
Hi Everyone,

I'm testing the IIWA, and i'm using the sunrise communicator component to control the IIWA.
I can send commands no problem, but I can't get the component to output an info for axis and pos.
Is there any special setup/hardware required for this?

What I'm trying to do is have grasshopper read the position/torque of the robot, and send different movements accordingly.
This seems to be not possible, since:
1.communicator is no outputing values
2.communicator needs movements commands to work, it cannot simply listen?

Also, When i end the PRC_RunUDP, i'm gettings a few errors on the HMI:
java.net.SocketException: socket closed
  at java.net.PlainDatagramSocketImpl.receive0 (Native Method)
  at java.net.PlainDatagramSocketImpl.receive (Unknown Source)
  at java.net.DatagramSocket.receive (Unknown Source)
  at threads.UDPReceiver.run (UDPReceiver.java:43)
The task didn't terminate within 15.0s: shutdown timeout while waiting ofr Main thread
Doesn't seems to matter much, but are these errors normal?

If someone can give share some thoughts on this.

Thanks,

Victor Lin
« Last Edit: May 21, 2020, 11:58:15 AM by victorlin »

Johannes @ Robots in Architecture

  • Lead Developer
  • Administrator
  • Forum User
  • *****
  • Posts: 1033
    • View Profile
    • Robots in Architecture
Re: sunrise communicator - axis and pos outputs nothing
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2020, 01:59:33 PM »
Hello Victor,

I'm not at my main PC at the moment, but if I remember correctly then the Communicator needs a Grasshopper Timer to output data. Please give it a try!
Regarding the exception, it's probably not properly closing the socket when the program exits. If that is causing problems the next time you start the program, it needs to be fixed, otherwise it's more cosmetic for now.

Best,
Johannes

victorlin

  • Robots in Architecture Members
  • Forum User
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: sunrise communicator - axis and pos outputs nothing
« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2020, 11:19:26 AM »
Hi Johannes,

Sorry for the late reply, just had a time to work on the robot now.
Even with the timer, it's still outputing null.
Using SmartSniff to check the traffic, I don't think the robot is outputing any values, as seen in the second attachment, there's no incoming traffic.
Is there some settings I need to do on the robot?

Regards,

Victor Lin

Johannes @ Robots in Architecture

  • Lead Developer
  • Administrator
  • Forum User
  • *****
  • Posts: 1033
    • View Profile
    • Robots in Architecture
Re: sunrise communicator - axis and pos outputs nothing
« Reply #3 on: May 25, 2020, 11:23:55 AM »
Hello,

Usually when you are not receiving data, your firewall is blocking it. Have you tried to temporarily disable it?
You could also check on the Sunrise side if it's sending anything, via a breakpoint in the relevant thread.

Best,
Johannes

victorlin

  • Robots in Architecture Members
  • Forum User
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: sunrise communicator - axis and pos outputs nothing
« Reply #4 on: Today at 01:29:12 PM »
Hi Johannes,

So I've tested the breakpoint, the program is generating the information, but I'm not reciving it for some reason.
I've already disabled the fireware and any anti-virus programs I have, but still no go.
What would be the next steps in debuging this issue?

Regards,

Victor Lin

Johannes @ Robots in Architecture

  • Lead Developer
  • Administrator
  • Forum User
  • *****
  • Posts: 1033
    • View Profile
    • Robots in Architecture
Re: sunrise communicator - axis and pos outputs nothing
« Reply #5 on: Today at 03:54:09 PM »
Hello Victor,

Did you unblock the port in the configuration file? That's another possible issue. By default, only ports 30000 to 30010 are open to the outside, see 15.5 in the Sunrise documentation.

Best,
Johannes