Author Topic: Setting up I-O modules  (Read 9352 times)

Xylotica

  • Robots in Architecture Members
  • Forum User
  • *
  • Posts: 212
    • View Profile
    • Xylotica
Setting up I-O modules
« on: April 08, 2016, 11:57:20 AM »
Hi !

I need to set up analog I-O modules (Beckhoff) in my robot's KRC2 cabinet to control a plasma torch.
I have found no help in the documentation on how to declare/configure those.

Could someone point out to some tutorial on the subject ?

Cheers,

Johannes @ Robots in Architecture

  • Lead Developer
  • Administrator
  • Forum User
  • *****
  • Posts: 1224
    • View Profile
    • Robots in Architecture
Re: Setting up I-O modules
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2016, 11:13:23 PM »
Hello,

There are some very useful posts regarding that on the robot-forum:
http://www.robot-forum.com/robotforum/kuka-robot-forum/krc2-io/
http://www.robot-forum.com/robotforum/kuka-robot-forum/krc2-io-mapping-question/
It should help you set it up. With KRC4 it's a bit easier through an actual graphical interface, in KRC2 you need to delve into the iosys.ini.

Best,
Johannes

Xylotica

  • Robots in Architecture Members
  • Forum User
  • *
  • Posts: 212
    • View Profile
    • Xylotica
Re: Setting up I-O modules
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2016, 10:41:31 PM »
Thanks Johannes,

This is not hyper didactic, but I guess that newbs like me are condemned to collect parts of the puzzle which are industrial robots.
Why don't you write the "Robots for dummies" book ?
I bet you'd make a fortune out of this...

Johannes @ Robots in Architecture

  • Lead Developer
  • Administrator
  • Forum User
  • *****
  • Posts: 1224
    • View Profile
    • Robots in Architecture
Re: Setting up I-O modules
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2016, 10:47:28 PM »
Good idea, we'll dedicate the first section to you ;)
...but to be frank, it seems that robot training is a big business and people make more selling training sessions for a couple thousand Euros, than a few books for 30 Euros each.

Best,
Johannes

Xylotica

  • Robots in Architecture Members
  • Forum User
  • *
  • Posts: 212
    • View Profile
    • Xylotica
Re: Setting up I-O modules
« Reply #4 on: April 09, 2016, 11:33:30 PM »
I have absolutely no shame in being a complete robot illiterate ; it's just sad that it remains so opaque.
Robot prices are getting very low, and fab-labs could really make use of them to upgrade from making tiny plastic gimmicks.

Your software is a step in the right direction, but I can't seem to find clear, well written documents about all the guts and odd aspects of robots on which I keep stumbling.

I wish there were Richard Feynman lectures for industrial robots...

Cheers
« Last Edit: April 10, 2016, 11:35:33 AM by Wall-E »

Xylotica

  • Robots in Architecture Members
  • Forum User
  • *
  • Posts: 212
    • View Profile
    • Xylotica
Re: Setting up I-O modules
« Reply #5 on: August 29, 2016, 11:06:59 PM »
Done !

The I-Os work, and Wall-e is spewing sparkles : https://goo.gl/photos/p5ciYGpMbNvyhFwa7

Johannes @ Robots in Architecture

  • Lead Developer
  • Administrator
  • Forum User
  • *****
  • Posts: 1224
    • View Profile
    • Robots in Architecture
Re: Setting up I-O modules
« Reply #6 on: August 30, 2016, 07:42:37 AM »
Nice, congratulations!
Now I want a plasma torch, too ;)
Best,
Johannes